Rational Acoustics

jeffbreen
March 5th, 2012, 02:23 PM
Hello,

I'm quite new to audio measurement, and therefore Smaart. I thought I'd start learning by measuring every piece of gear I have lying around to get a feel for things. I'm starting off by trying to measure the noise floor of a DSP and an analog mixer.

I'm trying to figure out how noisy this setup will be: A typical DSP with analog ins and outs configured to pass a mic level input signal to the output with no gain and no processing w/ the output feeding the preamp of a low priced analog mixer. Obviously, all the gain is applied at the mixer input, after the signal has passed through the DSP. I expect this will be bad, but how do I measure it and put a number on it?

I've set it up so I have a pink noise generator feeding the DSP analog input. Configured the DSP to wye this input to two outputs. Out 1 feeds the mixer input, out 2 is my reference signal. Main out of mixer is my test signal. Can I figure this out comparing relative levels?

With pink noise ON I set the mixer's gain to the point where the channel peak indicator started to flash. In Smaart the RTA shows a flat freq. response with an average of -15dB. With pink noise off the average is -95dB. Do I have a S/N ratio of 80dB?

The reference signal is -120dB with PN off, -48 with it on. When I drive the signal to the point the DSP output peak indicators start to flash it registers as -29 in smaart. So, is the DSP's S/N ratio 91 dB? The published dynamic range for this DSP is 108dB. I'm sure they didn't determine that by looking at an RTA, so how SHOULD I be measuring this?

Jamie
March 14th, 2012, 09:53 AM
Hey Jeff,