Rational Acoustics

le.chris
March 4th, 2018, 12:22 PM
Hi,

I am very new to SMAART and audio measurement in general, so the following is probably riddled with ill assumtions and wrong conclusions. However, I am amiss where the faults are, so I am posting it here, hoping to learn where I went wrong.

As a very simple first exercise I set out to level tops and sub of my living room soundsystem.

Initially, I set subs and tops to the same level to get a relatively flat response. Listening to music with this setting and comparing the tonality to that of relatively flat monitoring headphones, bass was more or less completely missing.

I increased sub level by 6dB, ending up with the attached traces (once measured at ear height, once directly on the floor). Even at this setting, I need to add a +10dB low-shelf to achieve the same tonality as the monitoring headphones.

While I think I understand that a flat system might not provide the tonality with regards to bass response that I am looking for, I am still really confused that I aparrently need a 16dB offset between sub and top level to match the tonality of the monitoring phones.

Is this to be expected? Or does this hint to some issue in my measurement procedure or hardware?

All Best,
Chris

Johnny
March 4th, 2018, 03:33 PM
Good news, the short answer is that youíre on the right track; what you found is expected. Iíll let someone more experienced with mixing give you the long answer.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Chris Tsanjoures
March 6th, 2018, 03:15 PM
Hi le.chris -