Rational Acoustics

Chappaj
September 9th, 2014, 03:28 PM
Hopefully this is a simple question. Sorry at the moment I can't post any screen shots. The computer is packed away in my trailer.

I have had no problem working with my previous subs ( aligning them with tops). They were just double 18 br subs. Maybe I just got lucky. I built 4 th subs to use with my live rig. Went to align them with tops and I'm getting a large dip at the crossover. I'm guessing it's because the graph for the phase shows that the tops and subs don't have the same angle ( I'm new at this so I could be wrong). I was systematically changing things till I figured out what would change that angle. This got got cut short due to angry people in surrounding houses.

I can get them to overlap at crossover with delay but what changes the angle to overlap. Sorry I'm guessing this is very basic but I have to make my next test day a little shorter than this one that's why I'm asking here.

I know more info is always better so tell me what if any you need and I'll be happy to share. What I can tell you is the angles both fall the same direction but the sub angle was far steeper then the tops.

Again sorry if this is basic knowledge. But any help would be very appreciated. Thanks

Timo Beckman
September 10th, 2014, 04:44 AM
You have to synchronize Smaart ("find" button in transfer mode) on the system (subs+tops).
After that take a solo trace on the tops and a solo trace of the subs without changing the Synchronization delay (you want to align the subs to the tops so do not try to synchronize on the subs via live IR).
If the phase angle of the traces in the x-over area do not match the trace that has a less steep angle then the other is the one that has to be delayed.

Chappaj
September 10th, 2014, 01:08 PM